work with the array of talent that exists.    My background is
in the games industry where I spent 20 years in a variety of senior management,
production and programming roles, and I’m also interested in gaming educational
products.     Really excited to be answering questions and
chatting with you today!
67 REPLIES 67

luke_sigtrap
Explorer
Hi Tom! I'm lead programmer at a (tiny) studio called Sigtrap, and we made a zero-g 6DoF shooter called Sublevel Zero. We did huuuuge amounts of R&D on sim-sickness and mitigating it, and found that "tunnelling", amongst other things, was a really effective solution. It was great reading your blog post on locomotion research, and good to see that other people are coming to similar conclusions to us.

It was also really interesting reading the sections on "window into the moving world" and "portal into the static world" - they're really useful extrapolations of the tunnelling concept. As such, we're actually about to release a Unity plugin called VR Tunnelling Pro, which draws on both our own research and yours, implementing a raft of different tunnelling methods which we hope will really help devs make comfort features - and player customisation of such - a standard part of VR games.

So, many thanks for sharing the research! More info on the plugin here if you're interested:
www.sigtrapgames.com/vtrp/

Bino
Protege
Hi Tom,

Probably a silly question 🙂 

I've been experimenting with traditional locomotion (with snap turning) for an FPS with high walk\running speeds. My experiments all run at a solid 90fps in UE4 and never fluctuate. One test uses a Tron like art style - simple emissive wireframe (about 2-4 pixels in width) and is all black where as the other test has a horror \ creepy theme.

The wireframe environment produces no motion sickness where as the textured horror environment does (not too bad but it's noticeable).