cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

After trying out the Oculus Quest I’m suffering a sickness affecting my real life very negatively

knimren
Honored Guest

TL; DR is at the bottom

I’m 26 years old, male, from Germany and have been playing video games and working on a computer pretty much my entire life. Never had a problem working for several hours on my PC. I even played Monster Hunter World for 16 hours a day, because it was so addicting. No problems occurred. I’m in my third semester of studying Information Design, so working with computers is just daily stuff for me. I do get sick when driving as a passenger in a car (I don’t have a driver’s license, never needed one) and I get sea sick being on a ship. I’m also near-sighted. I can’t look far into the distance but I can get through normal daily life without using my glasses. 

A month ago I bought an Oculus Quest to try out before playing Half Life Alyx. I chose it over the Rift S because of the IPD range, mine is about 56 or 57. I was excited to get it and enjoyed the little time I had with it, but my disappointment is huge because I have gotten some kind of sickness from it. And not just the regular VR sickness, where I get sick while playing VR games. I know you can build tolerance to this kind of sickness. 

I get sick doing normal things in life now and I’m freaking out a bit.