cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Crackling/Popping/Staticky Audio?

umemesomuch
Sightseer
Okay so I've already contacted Oculus but none of their solutions have really worked and I'm waiting on another response. I really need to fix my headset soon cause I told my family we could play it tomorrow for early christmas. Anyways, maybe last week, I got my oculus out after not using it for a week or so. It had been sitting on my dresser, safe. I plugged it in and oculus prompted me to download the newest update, so I did. Then i went into beat saber to play some songs and as soon as I started playing, I noticed this crackling in the audio. It's not completely consistent but it's pretty much that every second or two, theres a noticeable crackle in the audio. It's horrible to play with. The audio sounds like I have broken headphones. I tested my external headphones with my phone and they sounded great and I also noticed that my internal speakers were doing the same crackling. Another problem was that, after a while of playing and crackling, the headset would make a super high pitched beep and turn off and the orange light would come on. 

This doesnt just happen in beat saber (on steam), but also happened in the only other app I tried which was oculus first steps. I'm getting extremely frustrated because my headset has had little glitches like this off and on since I bought it. Doesnt seem to be enough to send it back though and I really dont want to. The audio was working completely fine a few weeks ago and I hadnt physically touched the headset since then so?? Any ideas?
1 REPLY 1

umemesomuch
Sightseer

So I just figured out a solution to all of the awful issues I've been having with my Rift S and I thought I would share it.