cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with "Extend Desktop to HMD"

oliv897
Honored Guest
Hello,

So I'm newbie here just got it this morning and loving it except I can only get Direct2Rift Apps to run!

I selected Extend Desktop but the Apps/Demos will only run on the Primary Desktop, I tried setting the Rift as Primary but I can't really see anything to click on anything!

My other problem was I dragged a windowed mode over (which breaks imersion) and there is no head tracking?

So yeah as you can see that's the troubles am facing... any ideas on how to get it to work?
3 REPLIES 3

danso
Honored Guest
Welcome to the club... I'm having the same problem, my rift won't display anything at all if I use "Direct HMD Access from Apps" only my main monitor will, so I have to use "Extended Desktop to HMD" to be able to see anything in the rift at all but then, just like yourself, I have to mess around switching main monitors and the head tracking doesn't work for me. My camera doesn't seem to turn on at all.

If I find a fix, I'll let you know but until then, all I can suggest is you check out the following games/demos in the meantime so you have something to do, as these all utilize DirectToRift and should work fine for you without any messing around:

Beneath - Minecart ride.
Chilling Space - Fun little asteroid blaster.
Crystal Rife - Interesting dungeon explorer game.
Cyber Space - Amusement ride! My favourite one so far!
Hell Waltzer - WARNING: This one made me feel sick.
Lava_Inc - Awesome little portal-esque rollercoaster.

This game was suggested to me by someone on the forums, it's not direct to rift but if you go in to options > view and select 3D - Oculus Rift, then restart the game and it should automatically work. Runs fine for me so might be worth giving it a go, it's amazing! ---> Live For Speed - Very good quality VR racing game.