cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Primary accounts can not cast to Chromecast devices?

mbze430
Rising Star

So I have BOTH a Quest 2 and Quest 3.  I can Cast to other Chromecast devices with the Quest 2 but not so with the Quest 3.  Why is that?

Ryzen 7 5800X3D | GSkill 32GB DDR4 | MSI RTX 4090 | Gigabyte Aorus X570 ITX | Samsung 980 Pro 2TB PCIe/NVMe
282 REPLIES 282

EnderFFX
Protege

That is sooo typical.
This BS Marketing smooth talk.
I am a dev myself.
Why not say:
Sorry guys, we really f*cked up and we now see our mistake and reversed it.

And some really great company would offer everybody a rebate or a free game or whatnot.
I am thankful about getting ChromeCast back but the way they "deal" with us is China-Esque...

Wow thanks for restoring !

Why all the soap opera then?

Well anyway still mad for ruin xmas and new year parties 🙂

Can confirm. Works after updating the headset. I can cast from Quest 2 to Chromecast.

Android app does not seem to be fixed yet though. (Cannot start cast to Chromecast from app, as I could before).

Thanks for fixing, and please dont remove it again. Let people themselves decide how to use their hardware.

andruillas
Explorer

Meta appear to have feature toggled this back on. I got it back without a software update.

See this thread too: https://communityforums.atmeta.com/t5/Ideas/Re-Enable-Direct-Casting-to-Chromecast/idc-p/1133499/emc...

Personally very pleased. Got casting back at a touch of a button and no faff. 

@meta. Don't do it again! Naughty puppy.

Omg. Thank you so much. The functionality is so much better. I tried mirroring to my phone, and laptop then to my tv and both have very bad quality and lag. But the chrome 🤌🏼 beautiful!

I just saw the latest update brought back chromecast on the quest. Thank you. This was a huge bummer to not have it on xmas.