cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quest 2 losing tracking -> forgetting guardian all the time

Battlevader0
Honored Guest

I'm in a bright room (living room) and just playing when suddenly the screen turns black and it says the headset lost tracking.. after 2 secs it recovers but it can't remember the guardian so i have to redraw it... and that happens quite a lot, around 1 time every 15mins.
Is this just standard? Or is there a way I can fix this? I'm new to VR

11 REPLIES 11

AprilSchuSchu
Honored Guest

I noticed mine did this when I wore a certain pair of glasses or if the room I was in was too bright. I don't have problems if I'm in a room with 100W yellow lights. 

Hey there, @Battlevader0! Welcome to the wonderful world of VR, we hope you're enjoying it so far! 

The reason you may be having tracking issues and having to reset the guardian so frequently is because of the lighting, just as @AprilSchuSchu kindly said. We do recommend using your headset in a dimmer-lit room, as bright lights are not good for your sensors, which can be sensitive to light.

Try to play with your lighting and see what works best for you! You can also try to clear your guardian cache. We'll list the steps for you below:

1. Press on your right Touch controller to pull up your universal menu.
  2. Hover over the clock on the left side of the universal menu. When Quick Settings appears, select it to open the Quick Settings panel.
  3. Select Settings in the top right corner.
  4. Select Guardian from the left menu.
  5. Select Clear Guardian History.

We hope this helps your issue. If not, you can always reach out to us here and we'll gladly help you out!

If you're the author of a thread, remember to mark a reply as the Accepted Solution to help others find answers!

I managed to find the issue using the passthrough view, as the cameras do struggle with bright lights I figured that must be the issue why the tracking is interrupted.