Rift Crackling Audio

simonjkendrew
Explorer

I’ve been using an Oculus Rift on my PC for almost 18 months
without any audio problems, but as of about 5-6 weeks ago, the audio through my
rift headphones (both left and right) has a crackling sound, which is becoming
very annoying and a little disorientating when using the headset. I’ve read
other forum posts of similar issues and have tried various advice from other
people, but cannot seem to resolve the issue.

The crackling sound only happens through the rift
headphones, my attached PC speakers or other headphones are OK. The crackling sound does not appear to be related to
specific games or applications, because it also happens if I play a test sound in
the Windows Sound > Playback > Rift Audio Headphones applet. The
crackling can sometimes be really bad, and other times not so bad. There are
some occasions where the crackling doesn’t happen at all and the sound plays fine,
although this doesn’t happen very often; the majority of the time there is a
crackling sound on the audio.

For the first 18 months before the problem started, the Rift
USB cable was connected directly to one of the rear motherboard USB3 sockets
(no extension cables). I haven’t changed the hardware in my PC prior to
this problem starting.

I’ve tried the following advice I’ve seen on other posts,
but none of these have solved the problem:

PC Spec

• Win 10 Pro (64 bit) Version 1803 (build 17134.81)
  • i7-6700K, overclocked to 4.5GHz (done by manufacturer)
  • ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming Motherboard
  • 16GB
  • 2 x 500GB SSD
  • EVGA GeForce GTX 1080
    8GB

RIFT Setup

• Oculus app version 1.26.0.582280
  • 3 x Rift sensors (2 connected to motherboard
    rear USB 3.0 sockets, 1 connected to motherboard rear USB 2.0 socket (using the
    USB2.0 extension cable supplied by oculus) 
Any help in solving this would be greatly appreciated.
44 REPLIES 44

sheuho
Explorer