cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Fresco Logic FL1100EX USB 3.0 Chipset is not available in PCIe cards in my region

JonnyGlitch
Explorer
Hello! Total noob here. I apologise if this question has been posted and answered I couldn't find it.

I need a compatible USB 3.0 PCIe card. The Fresco Logic FL1100EX is impossible for me to source locally, and problematic for me to order due to border lockdowns. I need a list of compatible chipsets. I've been told ASMedia works but I'd like confirmation from other users. I'm looking at the ASM1142 in the Startech PEXUSB314A2V

I know NEC and Eltron doesn't work (at least the chipsets I have don't)

6 REPLIES 6

Hi @JonnyGlitch welcome to the forum, sounds like you're doing some good research.

I'm currently using an ASRock Taichi MB which has the ASM1142 controller on it, and no problems at all.
I also have the Inatek KTU3FR-4P which has the FL1100-1Q-EX, all good.

Prior to that I was using the Asus X99 Deluxe which had 2 x ASM1074 and 1 x 1042AE (I think) and I was using that with the CV1, all USB ports worked ok but that board got upgraded and the CV1 was packed away when the Rift-S started to be used. That board also came with a 2 port 3.1 card but I don't know what chip that used.... Asus were big on USB ports!

I seem to remember Fresco drivers caused problems and we needed to make sure Microsoft drivers replaced them, not sure if that's still the case.

JonnyGlitch
Explorer
Thank you DaftnDirect! That just what I needed to hear. I kinda understand now why official support can be hesitant to hand out a "confirmed compatibility" considering vendors can swap out chip-sets so often to save money.

I won't have access to a FL one so I won't be able to answer that driver question, all I know is I found similar threads, all were oldish.

Yep, USB chipsets and their drivers are a big deal I think.