cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB 3.0 "Connection Required"

TopShelfSnip3r
Level 2
So yesterday I was playing fine with the VR the next day I come up with this problem. "USB 3 Connection Required" It's like the oculus app doesn't even recognize my usb 3.0 being plugged in my desktop and I made sure it's in a 3.0 port. I've plugged in every 3.0 port possible and it still says USB 3 Connection Required. I went into the device manager tried to update my usb 3.0 but it says it's at the latest version, i've tried to uninstall the usb and plug it back in multiple times. My display port works fine and my Rift S says Connected and active when I put on the headset it has 3 dots with the oculus symbol and a black screen with my controllers sitting 1 meter below me. In the device manager it shows that the USB 3.0 from the VR cable works fine. I did everything I can and don't know what to do I need help :disappointed:
It's been a month since I started playing VR.

5aqr8h8lf46g.png6grw3ur4jdwe.png
104 REPLIES 104

cerberus3333
Level 2
Thnks a lot i had the same problem with usb 2 instead of 3, rtanner48 advice fixed it!

SGMRock
Level 3
I had this problem yesterday on my Quest 2 with official link cable plugged into my 2080Ti USB C port.  Normally this works perfectly fine and gives me a bandwidth of 2.8Gbps.  Then all of a sudden it seem to think it was USB 2 and was only getting like 300 something Mbps.  To fix this I went into Device Manager set the view to "Devices by Container"  Then find the MTP devices, delete them all from the system.  I then had to unplug my Link cable from the back of my 2080Ti card and headset.  I then plugged back in the Link cable on both ends and it would detect the device again and work in USB 3 mode again.  

I'm wondering since the Link cable is fiber optic it must have some sort of DAC in it at both ends that might randomly get issues and removing the power from it would clear it.  Just a theory.  

Weevee