cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's the status of avoiding mirroring displays?

nickoneill
Honored Guest
Just got my rift yesterday and I'm still trying to set up my development environment to my satisfaction.

I'm developing on a mac and it's a bit of a pain to switch to low-res for both screens (mirroring) before I can run stuff on the rift. What's the deal with this? As a mac developer I know we can make displays full screen independent of one another (in 10.8+ at least), though I haven't figured out if I can launch an app into a specific screen yet.

Does the same restriction exist on Windows? What's the best way to deal with this?
17 REPLIES 17

jherico
Adventurer
The SDK is constrained by a few things. In needs to be able to query monitor information contained in the EDID in order to determine which output is the Rift. It also needs to be able to create a full screen rendering surface on that screen. I'm not sure about Mac, but I think on Windows there's no way to programatically tell DirectX or OpenGL to create a surface on a monitor that's disabled.

On Linux there may a better way to do it, since there is an X11 extension called RandR which lets you query and change the monitor configuration, including getting information about all monitors, whether they're active or not. My tests have shown that it doesn't seem to return EDID information about disabled monitors, but that shouldn't be insurmountable.

My suggestion would be to look on places like Stack Overflow for information on how to create a GL rendering surface on a disabled monitor, and how to grab EDID information from a disabled monitor. It's not Rift specific, so there's probably better information out there on whether it can be done and how hard it is.
Brad Davis - Developer for High Fidelity Co-author of Oculus Rift in Action

nickoneill
Honored Guest