cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

installed openxr, cant switch back to oculus runtime, button disabled

Vamphare
Honored Guest

oculus app has a bug, a few months ago i could able to change the runtime back just clicking "set as default" button.

now that notification is not shown at the top, and "set oculus as active runtime" button is disabled.

openxr is active runtime and i cant change it back since the button is disabled.

i can not understand how this bug can pass through test as an enterprise developer myself for 20+ years.

this is probably not tested at all.

is there another way to switch it back, i already uninstalled openxr toolkit but seems runtime is installed on oculus did not uninstalled.

if you tell us what that button triggers, we can manually change it. shouldnt be that hard. probably changes a registry value and maybe some json/xml/ini whatever u use.

3 REPLIES 3

Vamphare
Honored Guest

figured a workaround for this. NOT A SOLUTION just a silly workaround so meta u really need to solve this issue.

uninstall the oculus application.

go into C:\Users\YOURUSERHERE\AppData

and search for oculus related directories in sub directories and delete them.

go into program files and x86 make sure there isnt any leftover oculus directories. if so delete them

go into ur windows dir. and search for C:\Windows\SysWOW64 and system32 

look for *OVR* or *OCU* if they look like they are related to oculus, delete them.

go into registry, find Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Khronos\OpenXR

rename it to BCKOpenXR or delete it, dontworry oculus app will recreate it.

then install oculus again. there u go, button is enabled again.

TomCgcmfc
MVP
MVP

@Vamphare  Sorry mate but I have never seen this problem with my Q2/rtx3090 with Link or Air Link.  When I've selected Oculus openxr it always seems to take this fine.  When I go into SteamVR and look at the developer settings menu it shows that it is using Oculus openxr fine.