cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oculus Go using 3ds Max & V-ray 3.6?

realviewstudio
Honored Guest
Hi,

I am new to the VR community and would like to purchase the Oculus Go so I can showcase architectural 360° stereoscopic renders.
To render I use 3ds max 2016 and the V-ray 3.6 plugin.
I have a few questions and need advise on how to get started...

1. What file format would the stereoscopic renders need to be exported as?
2. What app or viewer do I need to view these renders on the Oculus Go?
3. It comes with a remote, so can I create points to transport the user from one room to the next, and how?
4. Is this all possible with the Oculus Go or is it not the right product for what I can achieve?
5. Are there any youtube video turorials that will explain this exact workflow?

I believe the Oculus Go is a fairly new product and I can't find the answers I am after.
I would appreciate some help and advise on this as I have no idea and I don't want to purchase the product without knowing I can achieve all this.

I look forward hearing some suggestions.

Thank you.

David
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

LZoltowski
Champion

lenne0815 said:

Jpg / sbs stereo / oculus gallery. For the question if you can move from room to room, there seems to be a deep misunderstanding on your side how a simple stereo picture can be interacted with. If you want to explore your geometry on the go you either need a viewer for max files or import them to unity and make a native go app.

I think he was after the "point at a hot link within an image" method to take him to the text image, rather than full motion.

Side by Side (sbs) and jpg
You can use Oculus Gallery app that is built in
3. It comes with a remote, so can I create points to transport the user from one room to the next, and how?