cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Rift...and everything else. Home Issues that I just can't figure out.

WebMetalReese
Protege
Hi there, thanks for checking out my post. I'm new to the rift and it's very exciting. I'm really enjoying the home feature and have already spent some hours just traveling to other people's homes and checking them out and chatting them up! It's great fun! 

But on the down side - why do all of these other users have such cool things in their homes? I wanted to figure it all out so I spent the past week doing my research and really getting down and dirty, but I just can't get it to work. 

I'm not artist. As a matter of fact, I'm color blind which makes it even more difficult. I tried Medium and it's just not for me, that's ok. I went on the web for answers. I discovered you can download 3D models and convert them to GLB files and then put them in your import folder and yay! There they are! Great! 

But it's a 15mb limit and I have no idea how to compress or edit these 3D files to get them down that low. I just don't understand it, I've literally tried everything including going to thinyverse and getting 3d models and putting them together and coloring them myself but even the most basic are at least 20mb. It's very frustrating. 

Can someone please guide me in trying to get file sizes down? Perhaps some software or a compression program or something. 3D builder is just not good enough. Even if I reduce the size down to say 10mm the file size stays the same, so how can I make them have less mass? 

Anyway, thanks in advance for any help. I sincerely appreciate it. 
6 REPLIES 6

Richooal
Consultant
I might be stating the obvious here, but all the cool stuff (with the exception of some talented people) is provided free by Oculus each week just for spending time in the Rift. If you haven't already, check out the "Notifications" and "Inventory" in the Home menu.