cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Audio crackling after firmware update v1.29

sheuho
Explorer
Hi there. I am experiencing crackling audio issue since 2 days ago, (dated 2/08/2018). 
I’ve tried everything as you listed below in simonjkendrew’s post and still there’s crackling audio. It’s driving me insane. We could really do with a fix as I don’t want to use my Rift if this continues. No hardware or game software change in the last 10 months and just started 2 days ago. Very annoying bug this. Can anyone help? What’s changed? I noticed oculus vr headset had a firmware update 2 days ago v1.29, updated the firmware and ever since the crackling started. Could it be the new firmware?  HELP!

This is the same issue SIMONJKENDREW posted back in 10 June. Exact symptoms and tried options listed in his post below;

I’ve been using an Oculus Rift on my PC for almost 18 months without any audio problems, but as of about 5-6 weeks ago, the audio through my rift headphones (both left and right) has a crackling sound, which is becoming very annoying and a little disorientating when using the headset. I’ve read other forum posts of similar issues and have tried various advice from other people, but cannot seem to resolve the issue.

The crackling sound only happens through the rift headphones, my attached PC speakers or other headphones are OK. The crackling sound does not appear to be related to specific games or applications, because it also happens if I play a test sound in the Windows Sound > Playback > Rift Audio Headphones applet. The crackling can sometimes be really bad, and other times not so bad. There are some occasions where the crackling doesn’t happen at all and the sound plays fine, although this doesn’t happen very often; the majority of the time there is a crackling sound on the audio.