cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to build and deploy a UE4 project on the Oculus Quest from Linux

Anonymous
Not applicable
It started out as a joke, but I've managed to set up a PC with Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS installed and have successfully built, deployed and run my game on the Quest.

If you're thinking of doing the same, this is a sort of guide. There are actual (and official) guides on how to build and run UE4 on Linux, and how to set up Android development on Linux:

These are both very good guides and you should follow them.

And you'll probably need this one too, especially if your game is a C++ (rather than Blueprint-only) project:

What I'm writing here is basically to fill in some gaps in the documentation, and hopefully save someone else several hours of Googling and reinstalling Ubuntu, etc... If you're a Linux guru, you probably already know all of this. I'm basically the opposite of a Linux guru, but I've had some experience from using the Terminal in Mac OS X in the past. So this guide assumes that you have some experience using the Terminal in OS X / Linux, or are at least very experienced with using the command prompt in Windows.

Let's start.

What versions to use, and what problems you'll face
As far as I know, the following works with:
- the Oculus branch of UE4.21.2
- Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS.

This is pretty important - I started with a newer version of Ubuntu (19.04) but that turned out to be a huge bag of hurt; lots of weird bugs, and some underlying changes preventing you from installing some libraries. This might work with other versions of Ubuntu (or Linux, in general), but there are too many variables and things will probably go wrong.

I'm not using 4.22 because there was a bug with spawning motion controllers in C++, and I wasn't going to modify the engine source, since the rest of my team are using the vanilla version of UE4 from the Epic Games Launcher.