cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shared-space multiplayer gameplay with Quest 2?

AnAerVR
Explorer

<p>Hey,</p>
<p>I'm a junior game developer and I've been hired by a VR arcade company to develop their first in-house video game, a location-based/shared-space multiplayer VR FPS. I'm having a very hard time ensuring the virtual space (i.e. the game in the headset) matches the physical space (i.e. the dedicated playroom). We're using Oculus Quest 2 headsets, the Unity game engine and the Photon PUN2 multiplayer solution. The project manager is adamant that it can &mdash; and should &mdash; be done with the Quest 2 (and possibly upgraded to the Quest 3 in the future).</p>
<p>What I'm looking to achieve is:<br />1. Mapping the Quest's guardian boundaries to the actual room's boundaries. The playroom's size is 36m&sup2; (6x6), and so should the guardian's.<br />2. Mapping the avatar's location to the actual player's location with reasonable accuracy. A few inches off is not ideal but still okay, however anything beyond that will be noticeable, disruptive and even potentially dangerous as player might collide with each other.</p>
<p>The core issues I've identified are:<br />A. Quest headsets cannot be aware of each other; they can only be aware of their position and rotation within their own guardian's boundaries. I don't think there exists any out-of-the-box solution to this; some sort of calibration will be required. That's okay as long as the process remains fairly straightforward.<br />B. Guardians are drawn by hand in a single continuous stroke, and unless you're some sort of cyborg there is no way you can have them be strictly identical &mdash; especially when the figure you need to draw is 36m&sup2;. It would be a lot less error-prone if we could draw the guardian by simply picking the four corners of a square, but AFAIK that's not possible at the moment.</p>