cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Oculus Quest controller for clicking on Buttons

GekaW
Honored Guest
Hi folks,

I'm currently building a prototype for a project (using unity 2019.4.0f1). That means it doesn't have to be perfect and there are just a few functions involved.
So far I created the environment and added a dialogue system, which pops up when the button is hit. This is working absolutely fine when I'm in Unity and try it on play mode. But when I try it out on my Oculus Quest, everything is shown correctly but I'm not able to click the button (as I did in play mode with the mouse). 
I'm using the custom hands and are able to grab things - but it seems I'm too stupid to click buttons. My brain tells me that there is a simple solution, but right now I'm more than desperate. I hope there's someone out there, who can help me. Btw I'm a newbie and try my best - be kind. 

Thank you in advance!

I don't know if it helps but here are my Hierarchy...
s1yhvha4br6u.png

The button in the inspector
5qty2l2gi5uq.png
...and the button in game
5gg4dgj5nlew.png
4 REPLIES 4

Fracont
Explorer
Take a look at the DebugUI scene in Oculus\SampleFramework\Usage for how to trigger UI events with VR controllers

rib
Protege
Unity UI input in VR is actually surprisingly difficult, so it's definitely not that "you're too stupid to click buttons"!

Unity's UI system is fundamentally designed for 2D input on a screen, with something like a mouse or touch input so all the solutions for VR UI input essentially have to send Unity fake screen coordinates.

Unity uses something called an Input Module for dealing with this stuff which is normally attached to your "EventSystem" game object in your scene. In addition to the Input Module, Unity's UI input also requires a raycaster to be attached to each Canvas in your scene that you want to interact with (normally a "Graphics Raycaster").

For VR UI input you generally have to replace both of these things.