cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Antialiasing/Scene Rendering Question

Halopend
Explorer
Ok, so first of all let me say I'm not a developer so if this is obvious or really misguided (aka WRONG). Don't bite my head off. I feel like I'm about to sound like one of those crazy people I see on the forum all the time who just have no idea what they are talking about (probably because I have no idea what I'm about to talk about).

With the distortion filter the rift uses is antialiasing applied before or after the distortion and could there be adjustments to the techniques used to get crisper pictures or at least better performance?

Actually, could could a scene be rendered directly through the distortion filter? The current (and much easier way) to render a scene is by rendering at a higher resolution than the actual screen of the rift and applying the distortion filter to that to keep the "stretched" portions of the image crisp. The problem with this is there is a ton of rendering wasted on the peripheral as the distortion filter "throws out" a good portion of what's rendered there.

Would it be possible to tweak the rendering engine to just render the scene directly through the distortion so you don't waste processing time rendering details in the scene that just get thrown out or is it just too fundamental of shift?

As a side note, does the subpixel arrangement of the rifts screen have an effect on antialiasing?
2 REPLIES 2

volgaksoy
Expert Protege