cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Your experiences: Cybersickness/Presence research 2016

Mattp0
Honored Guest
Hi All,
I am a PhD student in the UK am will be looking into the Oculus Rift with state of the art EEG and eye tracking equipment.

My aim is to improve presence, which involves solving many sub-categories such as cybersickness and bodily attachments.

I am kindly asking for your negative experiences with ONLY the DK2 and the consumer version (when it is out), your side affects, and how you feel your experiences could be improved.

This is just for me to get an in depth and individualistic idea of peoples experiences to help with research ideas.

Also, if you could make the gaming experience better, what would you like to add/change/use?

Thanks all!!!!
20 REPLIES 20

ThreeDeeVision
Superstar
Any sort of sickness I have felt is when the screen does something that doesn't match your physical head movement. Cameras taking control of your point of view, juddering, positional tracking lagging, or anything else that causes the screen to not match what your eyes expect to see.

Another thing that has caused me a little discomfort are movements on the screen that your body expects g-forces to accompany. Standing up seems to magnify this issue, and I have been able to get used to the lack of g-forces when seated. The Windlands demo is a great test for this issue. When using the grappling hooks to swing, your brain expects g-forces and tries to compensate for them with physical body movements. If you are standing when this happens, it throws off your balance.

The best experiences allow you to control the point of view completely and run with a high and stable frames per second, so the entire experience is smooth.
i7 5960X @ 3.8 GHz | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 PC2800 | GTX Titan X Pascal | Win 10 64 bit | Asus ROG PG348Q | EVGA X99 Classified

Mattp0
Honored Guest
Thankyou for your help!