cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help needed to add jump function to OVR Player Controller?

peteclarkelondon
Honored Guest
Hi All,

I'm hoping some kind person may be able to help me or point me in the right direction. I started learning Unity a few weeks back before I got the Rift. I decided to try and do a 'moon based' demo as I thought the change in gravity would be fun and it's a good environment for me to experiment with while I learn.

I had it working beautifully before the Rift arrived, able to walk and jump around the lunar landscaper. Since getting the Rift I removed the my old control type (from the 'standard assets' that ship with Unity) and added the Oculus Controller. This works fine apart from I now have no jump function and I've tried a variety of things to get it back with no success. As my lunar environment requires jumping and low gravity, it's proving a bit of a nightmare.

I am a newbie, and I'm sure that the answer is pretty simple so if someone could at least point me in the right direction I would be eternally grateful.

Thanks in advance.
31 REPLIES 31

drash
Heroic Explorer
To be honest I don't have a lot of experience working with the OVRPlayerController, but I believe it does support jumping (with a configurable jump force applied when you jump). The key point being, when using Oculus' Unity integration, you generally have to decide between using an OVRPlayerController or an OVRCameraController. OVRPlayerController is basically the OVRCameraController PLUS FPS-style control, kinda like the FirstPersonController standard asset from Unity. The player controller isn't always a good fit depending on what you're trying to do but it's good for quick and dirty stuff.

Does that help?

cybereality
Grand Champion
In OVRPlayerController.cs in the function UpdateMovement(), you can add the following:

if (Input.GetKey(KeyCode.F)) Jump();