cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Yet another CV1 review!

Anonymous
Not applicable
There have been a lot of reviews lately of the CV1, and I see a lot of mixed feelings about it. I'm writing this review in a way that I hope helps people take away/confirm some concerns and answer some general questions.

I'm going to write the review in bullet points because that way people will probably find the answers they are looking for more quickly.

I have very little VR background. I have used a DK2 once, but only for 5 minutes and it wasn't properly set up. I have used the CV1 for a total of 10 hours now with a few games, interactive experiences, and 360 panoramic videos.

Here we go.

SETUP

Setup is very straight forward. The setup tool guides you through every step and you'd have to be pretty daft to be able to screw this up. You plug in three cables and the XBox wireless adapter, synch the remote and controller, and update the firmware. After that you have to place the camera on your desk, calibrate the Rift, and you're basically done. Adjusting the headstraps took some time to get right, but when you realise what you're doing it'll work out fine. Make sure the straps are even on both sides, otherwise you 'll feel the headphones are not symmetrically placed. EDIT: a tip for making sure the straps are symmetrical: after adjusting the side straps, measure how much of the velcro is visible on both sides. Mine was at 36mm on the right and 28mm on the left. If you add both measurements to each other and divide by two you'll end up with the amount you'll need to get it even on both sides. In my case I had to adjust both straps to 32mm to get them even. This also greatly helps with avoiding eye strain.