Skip to main content
Up and Coming
January 22, 2015

Found a bug in 4.7 preview 4, regarding DK2 image quality.

I am using the 4.7 preview 4 and not sure if this was happening in previous versions.. This one took a while to figure out but I finally got it. So everything was looking great in my project in the "standalone player" and "VR Preview" mode, but when packing the project it was subtly blurrier than in the editor, enough to kill the immersion a little.

So I finally found the answer. It ended up that if I pressed "Alt + Enter" even though the game was already in rift mode, it immediately cleared everything up and looks exactly as it did in "VR preview" mode clarity-wise (in the editor). Not sure if is caused by UE4 autoexecuting the 'stereo on' console command. It seems they changed something so that the rift mode starts automatically (it didn't before) and that is creating the subtle blur. I did not have the stereo on command in my blueprints but I heard there may be an issue with it.

Just want you guys to be aware of this, I spent hours digging through the post processing volume, engine scalability settings, render settings. It was a small bug, and only a matter of pressing ALT + Enter counter intuitively as I was already in rift mode, so it didn't make sense to do it. But it made a world of difference.

(For reference I currently I have the post process volume with temporal AA off and using hmd sp 150 for testing my project)

Edit2: I Found easy way to reproduce what I am seeing. Open level blueprint, create event begin play --> then connect it to 'execute console command', in that box type stereo on. Then go "play a standalone" game (not VR Preview). It will start in rift mode automatically. Press ALT + Enter and it will get clearer. This appears to be an issue with the stereo on command, but I do not have it present in my other project so it must be autoexecuting.
    This topic has been closed for replies.

    13 replies

    karrtoonAuthor
    Up and Coming
    January 23, 2015
    One more thing. For that other unrelated side issue I was having, I found out why 'stereo on' kept auto-executing even after I deleted it from the level blueprints (I was actually mistaken earlier, and if anyone is interested maybe this will help..) There is no save button in the toolbar of the level blueprint section (like in all other blueprint sections..) so I had mistakenly assumed it was auto-saving when clicking the compile button.

    The editor's new 'vr preview' option, and standalone game had always shown my level blueprint changes after clicking that compile button (and albeit it was not saving) so I thought packaging it would have the same behavior. But still 'stereo on' kept executing in the packaged test project even though the blueprint node for it had been deleted, but anyway this was a pretty simple thing in the end..

    There is "save on compile" option under the file menu in level blueprints, and it is set to
    'never' by default, I imagine you can change it. (it's greyed out on my screen unfortunately.. I still can't change it to 'on success only', or 'always'). So now I just go to "Save All" before packaging.

    TLDR; It seems to me they should maybe add a save button to the toolbar in level blueprints section like how it is in the other sections so dummies like me know to click it, or when you package a project it autosaves the level blueprint to avoid confusion/lost blueprint changes. This was more of an user interface/workflow issue with UE4 I think, not really related to anything you guys can do.
    Inspiring
    January 23, 2015
    Yeah, I noticed that thing about the no save button on level Blueprints. I thought I was just a missing something obvious. I've just been pressing the save button on the main window and I guess that works.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
    Up and Coming
    January 23, 2015
    When you close your project, you should also be prompted to save any unsaved resources.